2012 Golden Globes: TV Edition- More Thoughts as the Bile Rises In My Throat

And here we are, at part two of this wonderful series where I bottle up all my awards show-centric rage inside myself until it finally breaks free in blog form.

Normally, I try to keep all of this as courteous, respectful, and professional as possible.

But you’re pushing me, Golden Globes. Right to my limit.

Click “Continue Reading” to see if I’ll suffer a nervous breakdown mid-sentence!

Best Television Series- Drama

American Horror Story

Boardwalk Empire

Boss

Game of Thrones

Homeland

Homeland is a terrific show. It deserves plenty of awards. Big bucketfuls of ’em. But to legitimately try and pick the best five TV dramas of this season and leave out both Breaking Bad and Justified (arguably the two best shows OF this season) is so unbelievable that it casts a negative light on every television award given out tonight and makes the Golden Globes look like a joke. Next category, please.

Best Television Series- Comedy or Musical

Enlightened

Episodes

Glee

Modern Family

New Girl

There was no way Modern Family wasn’t going to win- it’s an awards show darling (and it’s pretty darn funny to boot) but again, snubbing Parks and Recreation and Louie (arguably the two strongest comedies on the air right now- there seems to be a pattern developing here) in favor of shlock like Glee and New Girl is just sad. Let’s try another category.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series- Drama

Steve Buscemi- Boardwalk Empire

Bryan Cranston- Breaking Bad

Kelsey Grammar- Boss

Jeremy Irons- The Borgias

Damian Lewis- Homeland

Good on you, Golden Globes, for recognizing Damian Lewis’s work on Homeland and for at least giving Bryan Cranston a nomination. This is an improvement, at least.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series- Comedy or Musical

Alec Baldwin- 30 Rock

David Duchovny- Californication

Johnny Galecki- The Big Bang Theory

Thomas Jane- Hung

Matt LeBlanc- Episodes

Well, out of the options we had here this doesn’t seem so bad. Matt LeBlanc is enjoyable to watch onscreen. He’s no Louis CK, but he’ll do. Also, although I’m not what you’d call a ‘fan’ of The Big Bang Theory, why go with Johnny Galecki over Jim Parsons? Galecki’s just the straight man in that duo- he’s got decent personality but he’s no great shakes.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series- Drama

Claire Danes- Homeland

Mireille Enos- The Killing

Juliana Margulies- The Good Wife

Madeleine Stowe- Revenge

Callie Thorne- Necessary Roughness.

Give yourselves a pat on the back, Golden Globes. You actually gave someone a trophy who truly deserves to win. If you haven’t already, go take a look at Homeland and be amazed at how taught and suspenseful and addicting it all is. This is the first time I haven’t been sorely disappointed here and for that I’ll gladly overlook that Necessary Roughness is even on this list.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series- Comedy or Musical

Laura Dern- Enlightened

Zooey Deschanel- New Girl

Tina Fey- 30 Rock

Laura Linney- The Big C

Amy Poehler- Parks and Recreation

Swing and a miss. I find it really hard to believe that Amy Poehler still hasn’t won an award for Parks & Rec, but here we are. At this point, I traditionally become frustrated with all awards shows and swear off them forever, but I know I’ll come crawling back at some point. I can’t stop.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television

Peter Dinklage- Game of Thrones

Paul Giamatti- Too Big to Fail

Guy Pearce- Mildred Pierce

Tim Robbins- Cinema Verite

Eric Stonestreet- Modern Family

I’m not the first person to say this (and I won’t be the last), but it would be just super if these four different categories (Comedy Series, Comedy Mini-Series/TV Movie, Drama Series, Drama Mini-Series/TV Movie) weren’t lumped into one for what I assume is convenience’s sake. Still, in this bizarre hodgepodge of confusion, anger and me crying alone at my keyboard, it’s nice to see Peter Dinklage take home a statue.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television

Jessica Lange- American Horror Story

Kelly MacDonald- Boardwalk Empire

Maggie Smith- Downton Abbey

Sofia Vergara- Modern Family

Evan Rachel Wood- Mildred Pierce

Maybe the Golden Globes are trying to be edgy. Maybe they’re trying to be that bad-ass awards show that doesn’t play by anyone else’s rules and pits Maggie Smith against the screaming Colombian woman from Modern Family in some kind of bizarre contest that no one truly understands the rules to. At this point I can’t be sure of anything anymore.

Best Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television

Cinema Verite

Downton Abbey

The Hour

Mildred Pierce

Too Big To Fail

Do the Golden Globes realize that a British TV series traditionally has only six or seven episodes and that you can’t really call The Hour or Downton Abbey a mini-series because there’s nothing more ‘mini’ than that in British TV? No? Well, ignoring that, there are some decent contenders here and Downton Abbey is a deserving winner. At this point my brain feels swollen and I just want these awards to stop. Please.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television

Hugh Bonneville- Downton Abbey

Idris Elba- Luther

William Hurt- Too Big To Fail

Bill Nighy- Page Eight

Dominic West- The Hour

Sweet relief. Thank you. Idris Elba’s a terrific actor and deserves all this and more for playing unhinged-cop-who-can’t-be-stopped John Luther. Plus, just one more Golden Globe and I’ll finally be treated to the sweet release of death! We’re almost done.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television

Romola Garai- The Hour

Diane Lane- Cinema Verite

Elizabeth McGovern- Downton Abbey

Emily Watson- Appropriate Adult

Kate Winslet- Mildred Pierce

That works. Kate Winslet’s a very, very strong actress. Mildred Pierce is a great story. Thus, she won. There are also other actresses in this category. They too, deserve praise. So, as all the critical functions of my brain shut down one by one, I wish you a fond goodbye and I’ll see you next time.

22 responses to “2012 Golden Globes: TV Edition- More Thoughts as the Bile Rises In My Throat

  1. Oh man… was reading the post, and when it got to the best mini-series category, I was like, what, no Mildred Pierce win?? Good thing Kate won the best performance by an actress one. Also agree that Modern Family deserved to win Best TV series, but why is The New GIrl on there? Zooey is a terrible actress, that says it all right there, and Glee is done. And the whole snubbing Parks and Recreation thing is just not right. Maybe they’ll come to their senses next year… here’s hoping.

    • I feel like every TV award for comedy is always horribly mishandled. It’s like the nominees and the winners are always what’s popular and not what’s truly deserving to be getting awards. Of course, that could be because comedies are so much more subjective than dramatic shows. I really don’t know.

      Thanks for your comment!

      • Mhm… interesting observation, although I’m not sure I understand what you mean about dramatic shows not being as subjective as comedies… if comedies are rewarded based on who/what show is popular, do you not think it is much the same for dramas?

  2. I think it’s all a popularity contest to at least some degree, but I worded my response in kind of a weird way (whoops… heh heh heh). What I was trying to say was that with dramatic shows, the stronger choices seem to rise to the top in a more obvious manner (it’s clear to almost anyone that Homeland, Game Of Thrones, etc are much stronger than something like The Killing or True Blood). With comedies, though, it seems to me that the people giving the nominations just pick whatever they think happens to be funny, and don’t actually try to judge which comedies have been pushing the envelope or doing something new and unique and different.

    • oohh gotcha… yup, makes sense now hehe. It is interesting, in a way, that a show’s genre seems to drive the way people evaluate this or that show, even though the awards should be giving equal standards to evaluate ALL shows… thanks for the clarification on your point of view on all that!

  3. I feel like I’ve been falling behind! Modern Family I absolutely love, from Season 1, but some of these others I haven’t heard of…. *frantically googling*

    Except Game of Thrones, of course. But that’s mostly because I’m a fantasy geek. I’m still stuck on things like Castle and Bones!

    New Girl falls into the category of shows like Work It: there are some really funny parts, and I’ll watch them for that, but the overall piece is nothing groundbreaking, inspiring or to die for. I’m glad Modern Family won out.

    • Modern family does deserve a whole mess ‘o praise. It’s not exactly groundbreaking, but it’s one of the few shows on TV that’s guaranteed to make me laugh every time I turn it on.

      Thanks for your comment!

  4. I think the problem with the Globes is that it’s the foreign press. All of these shows that you love (and that I love too) are American to their core. Parks and Rec? Breaking Bad? Justified? I can understand those shows not appealing to European sensibilities. Even though they are the unrivaled best.

    The Emmys do a *little* better, or they will when they stop nominating Glee for things.

    • That does make a lot of sense. And yeah, I prefer the Emmys to the Golden Globes, but only by the slightest of margins.

      I think the problem is that I’m looking to awards shows for some kind of substance, when for the most part they’re just popularity contests.

      Thanks for your comment!

    • I disagree…. I’m from Europe and I LOVE Parks and Recreation! A lot of the US shows don’t play in Europe. Maybe in GB but not everywhere. The bigger shows like Glee (which I don’t like) or TBBT (this season is bad) are played. I’m not sure about Breaking Bad and Modern Family as I watch everything streamed. Downtown Abbey never played in my country, I watched the DVD 1 and loved it. I don’t even think the Good Wife is played in Middle Europe.
      My point: people don’t know it.

      • Interesting- that’s something I haven’t considered when it comes to a lot of modern TV. I’d guess that a lot of the major network stuff (Glee, TBBT, maybe How I Met Your Mother) plays in other countries, but it would make sense that stuff like Breaking Bad, which airs on a much smaller network, wouldn’t get nearly as much international airplay.

        Thank you so much for your comment!

  5. I was glad to see Jessica Lange take home an award. I thought American Horror Story was great although the end of th series was a bit of a let down comapred to the rest of the season. If you’ve ever seen her in Tootsie, then you’ll get what the fuss is about here. A very good post otherwise.

    • Thanks for your comment! I’ve seen an episode or two of American Horror Story but haven’t caught up with the rest of the season. I think my undying love and affection for Margo Martindale (who won the Emmy in this category and wasn’t even nominated here) may be keeping me from considering any other supporting actresses. Still, now I have an excuse to watch the full first season of American Horror Story.

      • You should catch up on American Horror Story before the second season begins! Good show! And yes, Jessica Lange deserved that! For me her reserved, disciplined acting, and wonderful dry delivery of the lines gave the show its soul the first season.

  6. Well done “Downton Abbey”. I was introduced to this so called “mini” series a few weeks ago and was happy to finally say that they still know how to make good films! At the moment everyone’s talking about “The Great Expectations” based on Dickens’ story, but as I’m not in the UK, that wll have to wait – hopefully I won’t be disappointed when I get the DVD.

    • There seems to be no end to updates on classic stories these days- Great Expectations, Sherlock, Mildred Pierce, and a few… lesser-quality works (Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, I’m looking at you).

  7. First off, thanks for the visit to Frank’s Place. Second I’m going to cut against the grain a little. Boardwalk Empire has it’s critics but in my opinion it is well done. Now I grew up in Atlantic City so I am biased but I have yet to find any major un-truths to the story line.

    Buscemi has Nucky down pat. The dude playing Eli Thompson is on the money as well.

    Anyway that’s my 2 cents worth of defense for Atlantic City.

    Love the blog.

    • Boardwalk Empire is a wonderful show. It has its flaws here and there, and I’ve heard a lot of folks say the show focuses more on the period-piece style than the actual content of the show, but I personally don’t agree with that statement (yes, there is a lot of attention paid to the 1920’s cinematography, but the character work is just as strong- anyone who’s seen the entirety of the first two seasons and knows the Nucky/Jimmy arc well enough can attest to that).

      I think that the problem Boardwalk Empire has is that it’s an excellent show that gets overshadowed in a lot of ways by juggernauts like Breaking Bad and Justified- I like the time I spend in Prohibition-era Jersey, but ultimately the show’s trying to compete with the absolute best on TV, and I think that Boardwalk Empire is a terrific show but not a “best thing on TV” show.

      Of course, that won’t stop me from blogging about it once season three starts rolling along. That’s absolutely going to happen.

  8. Great review! You have a cool blog, I wish I had time to watch TV but, alas… no. Except for Netflix and I totally agree with you re: Breaking Bad! How could that have been overlooked? LOVE LOVE LOVE. My favorite series right after The Wire, and right before Mad Men. Thanks for stopping by my blog and checking it out, too!

    • If I ruled the world, I’d spend my days thinking up new awards for Breaking Bad to win. Also, I’d bribe my way into a small speaking part in every episode, and would order a royal decree that the cast and crew have to hang out with me on weekends.

      What a wonderful world that would be…

Like what you read? Leave a comment!

